Shariah, or Islamic law, is the centerpiece and backbone of Islam. It’s principles
are based on the Qur’an & Sunnah.

The rules of Islamic law provides all that which is necessary for a person’s
spiritual and physical well-being. As a Muslim one is obliged to follow the
Shariah with great care. We have included the Shariah within our site to help
our Disciples perform their obligatory duties with correct due care and attention.

Islamic law is divided into two main sections:

Acts of worship Human interaction
Principle Beliefs

Financial transactions

Purification (Wudu)


Prayer (Salah)

Laws of inheritance

Fasting in Ramadhan (Sawm)

Marriage, divorce, death and child care

Charity (Zakah)

Food and Drink

Pilgrimage (Hajj)

Penal punishments

Warfare and peace

Judicial matters

Fiqh, literally understanding of details, expands on the basic principles set
out in the Shariah. There are four schools of fiqh named after the exceptional
scholars who derived the finer details, all of which conform with the Qur’an
& Sunnah.

  1. Hanafi : Named after Imam Abu Hanifa, 702-767 CE
  2. Hanbali: Named after Imam Ahmed ibn Hanbal 778-855 CE
  3. Maliki: Named after Imam Malik ibn Anas, 717-801 CE
  4. Shafi: Named after Imam Muhammad Idris al-Shafi, 769-820 CE

It should be noted that Imam Malik, Imam Abu Hanifa, Imam Shafi’ and Imam ibn
Hanbal all embraced Sufism, tasawwuf. It has been narrated from Imam Malik that:

“‘He who practices sufism without learning the shariah
corrupts his faith, while he who learns Shariah without practicing sufism corrupts
himself. Only he who combines the two reaches his goal.”


It is Wajib to follow ONE of the four Imams of fiqh. This is
known as Taqleed Shakhshi. It should be noted that one cannot mix & match
the various rules and should only follow the rulings of any one Imam.

The Islamic Law listed on this site has been taken from “Rules
of Islamic Law” by Moulana Shams-ud-din Amjad. It is based upon the Hanafi
school of Fiqh.